Private Forums
Diesel vs. Base Oil for OBM?
04 January 2020
Lectori Salutem,
I would like to consult with the community to explore the advantages and/or disadvantages of using diesel vs. base oil for oil based mud (OBM) systems - I have to admit that I have very little to no experience using diesel based OBM systems and I am not a chemist or mud engineer neither. The obvious differences between using diesel and base oil are cost and possible contaminants in the diesel (assuming the base oil is free of contaminants). The first questions that spring to mind are:
  1. Any HSE concerns? Are these different for using diesel vs. base oil?
  2. What can be done to remove any possible contaminants and is this really necessary?
  3. Has anyone experienced positive or negative results using diesel with the drilling fluid company's chemicals / additives?
  4. Would there be any impact on cementing operations (i.e. bond of the cement) when using diesel vs base oil based systems?
  5. Anything else to consider?
Many thanks in advance.
Harald Benning
5 answer(s)
Harald
Senior Wells Advisor
Redstone Drilling
Total Posts: 36
All,
Many thanks for your informative and detailed responses. I assume that with elevated temperatures (140 - 160 deg C) these issues are exacerbated, but perhaps less of an issue on land rigs. Though changing out shaker screens would still not be a pleasant job.

Best regards,
Harald Benning 
ADunsmuir
Mud Engineer
MI-Swaco
Total Posts: 3