Private Forums
BOP closed accidentally
25 November 2020
Dears,

It happened in one of the rigs of an Algerian drilling contractor, while pulling out of the hole suddenly the weight increased and pipe was cut due to the high overpull applied. The investigation mentioned that the pipe rams was closed during the POOH, and this was the main cause getting the pipe cut.

The spread words on the rig and in the office are saying that the BOP was closed accidentally by itself.

I am a well control instructor, and couldn't believe it.

Please if someone could and answer to that: would the BOP close accidentally by itself? (Also they are saying that the control unit pumps run every one minute....!!!!!?)

Thank-you

Yahia

_________
Note from Dave Taylor (moderator): We have a long list of professional associates who can conduct a full review/investigation.  If required, contact me on: dave @rp-squared.con
Documents uploaded by user:
Log.png
9 answer(s)
MDavis89
Drilling Engineer
Schlumberger
Total Posts: 1
Hi all,

Was involved in a project where the casing shear rams inadvertently activated, shearing the drillpipe while drilling. Now it is public on a government database I can share what was reported below in the EOWR. Seems the root cause was the EHBS / Autoshear system.